top of page
  • Writer's pictureTiphanie Sizemore—New Mercies

Hot Water Cake

Updated: Apr 3, 2023

Recently, someone shared with me this wonderful recipe. The thing about it that immediately caught my attention was that I already had all of the ingredients on list. I decided to give it a shot... or rather, my 12 year old daughter did. Lol 😂


I will say the "Hot Water" part of the name did give me a second of pause, but after reviewing the ingredients, I was, like, that sounds good. So we tried it! It was fabulous! We have made it several times since. It has a slight reminiscent taste of Texas Sheet Cake for those familiar with that recipe but even better, in my opinion. So I wanted to share....


I was even so excited 😆 that my photo of the cake turned out so well. I didn't get a pic of the entire cake uncut, unfortunately- I forgot! We were too excited to dig in!


Hot Water Chocolate Cake



Ingredients

1 1/2 cup of All purpose Flour

1 1/2 cup of sugar

4 TBSP Cocoa

1 stick of butter, melted

1 1/2 tsp of baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 cup of very hot water


Additional 1/2 cup of very hot water

2 TBSP of vanilla

1 egg


Mix flour, sugar, salt, cocoa, & melted butter until blended. Add 1 cup of the hot water and mix well. In a separate bowl, add baking soda and baking powder, stir together, add in the remaining 1/2 cup of hot water, stir, add egg and vanilla. Pour into flour mixture and mix well.


Pour into greased 9x13 pan -- cook on 350* for 25 minutes (could be more or less depending on your specific oven- check @ 18-20 minutes) --cook until a toothpick inserted into cake comes out relatively clean. (Using the back of a spatula, poke a few holes in the cake so the icing can penetrate the cake for a more "lava" cake texture.


Icing --

In a medium sauce pan, melt together:

1/4 cup of butter (half a stick)

1/4 cup of canned evaporated milk

once butter is melted, add in

1 cup of sugar

1/4 cup of cocoa-- stir constantly



Let boil for one minute, stirring vigorously-- remove from heat--Add in 2 TBSP of vanilla. Stir. Pour over cake when icing is done. Pour quickly. Icing will harden as it cools.


(You can also double the icing recipe if you love icing! We didn't double it the first time, but we have doubled it since then.)



So delicious! Great served warm or cool. If served warm, dish up beside some vanilla bean ice cream and add on some hot fudge sauce for a delicious hot fudge cake dessert!









Original recipe credit: Misty Hines


49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page